Friday, August 17, 2012

Palatable CCSS

The Common Core Standards really have more to understanding them then eating a five course meal, but here's another simple Infographic for you to share with your colleagues to gain further understanding on how the shifts work together with pedagogy change, information, student-centered instruction and more.    

Let's make our content delivery palatable!   


  1. Awesome Post. The only thing I'd maybe change is Expression and "Reflection" rather than Assessment. I see reflection about content, skills and dispositions learned is key and way too often skipped. Also curious about note about 6 shifts but there are only 4 in the Meat and Potatoes section.

  2. Thanks for your contribution! You are so correct that both expression and reflection are important (especially as Inquiry plays such a vital part of the CCSS pedagogy). "The dessert" was meant to be: 1 for the student (expression) and 1 for the teacher ( evaluate the delivery; How well did I teach the material? How well did this "lesson/unit" deliver the material?). Expression can also be summative assessment for the student as well.

    The 4 points listed under the main course are only meant to be 'food for thought.' The 6 shifts really work together--not independently. For example, the "rich text" box, really embraces most of the shifts focused on "vocabulary," "evidence," "text complexity," and ELA across the disciplines. So that 1 box, could hit 4 shifts. They are mutually woven together is a well-planned CCSS lesson.

    1 -Literacy begins in the earliest grades, but needs more non-fiction focus (currently is 80% literature) - scaffolded, rigorous instruction.
    2 - Literacy is a K-12 Road (not just elementary)
    3 - Text Complexity matters
    4 - Text-Dependent Questions (Questions that require students to pay attention to the text itself).
    5 - The ability to write an argument based on evidence and complex information
    6 - Focus on Vocabulary